More Tales from Suburbia


I’ve been extremely taken with nature recently. I’ve always loved the outdoors but my desire to suspend myself in a world of green has been, much to my liking, rather intense. My Saturday afternoon was spent lazing about Bellbird Grove at Mt Nebo on Brisbane’s west side. The area was a spacious grass field offering several barbeque facilities. Definitely one advantage of living in Brisbane is the abundance of wildlife and natural parkland. Mt Nebo is part of Brisbane Forest Park and connects with many scenic drives worth visiting if you’re passing through, an effortless trip some 15-20 minutes from the heart of Brisbane. Clusters of barbeque and picnic areas can often be found lining the windy drives, which entice you through Eucalyptus and gum forests buzzing with the cacophonous sound of bell birds and large clearings offering city views all the way to nearby Mt Glorious and Wivenhoe Dam. Bellbird Grove was certainly a lot more than I expected – remote and relaxing, like Maisie Dixon Park, it felt as though we were transported away from the hustle of city life. We explored the dried creek bed like juveniles as butterflies floated past and a bush turkey even bit my finger… it was all very exciting. Photos will be up soon, but for now here are some various picks from my collection this year that have been inspiring me as of late. All of these photos were taken right in my backyard or close to it!

If it wasn’t quite obvious already, I’m completely obsessed with capturing any animal in flight – most of my nature photos comprise of birds and sometimes disturbingly, mating butterflies. I’m not a pervert, am I?

This won’t be the last you’ve seen of these! I will be attending a photography master class tomorrow to improve my skills. Perhaps when I return, I will have learned how to take extended macro shots of more mating butterflies.

Playing with the flash at my Nat Geo shoot.

