Gastronomy jackpot: Italian Mandarinetto


This drink became my new addiction in Sicily. I’m not usually a fan of soft drinks, but when an old Sicilian man mixes mandarin syrup with soda water in front of my eyes, the drink is incredibly delicious!

It is also a very attractive 1 euro at one of the many kiosks scattered around Catania. I became a huge fan of the mandarin flavour, but lemon and lime is available too.

I went hunting for a bottle of my own syrup, but you can get a premixed alcoholic mandarinetto liquer, but it was all in vain. I guess I’ll just take this memory with me only!

Expel your words on me

